Adding new sites and management regimes

The left-hand toolbar lists a project’s info, users, sites and management regimes, and data sharing. Here you can add a new site or management regime directly to a project when online. Admins and collectors can use these “new site” and “new management” functions.

Adding a new site

Navigate to the “Sites” tab and select “New Site” 

A new site requires a name, country, coordinates, and details on the exposure, reef type, and reef zone. The name can be the site’s common name or unique ID. When all details have been added, save the site.

In the “Sites” tab you can choose “Copy sites from other projects” to add existing sites and their metadata from other MERMAID projects. You can also add a site directly from an observation page by clicking the ‘+’ sign next to the site dropdown field.

When online, a new site created by one user is shared across the project with all other users and available for them to use in observations. If you know the sampling sites within your project in advance, it is easiest to add them while online before going to the field.

New sites can be created offline, and then will be synced when back online.

New sites with matching metadata that are created offline by different users within a project can be merged when users are back online. If multiple new sites have identical coordinates, they will be flagged as duplicate sites. If this happens, you will see a warning under the “Sites” tab that says “Duplicate Sites”. When you navigate into the “Sites” tab, you will see a notification at the top of the page that the project appears to have duplicate sites. Click “Resolve” to decide whether to merge the duplicate sites or keep them separate.

A modal will show you which sites are considered duplicates. Here you can decide whether to keep one site and merge it with the duplicate sites, or to edit a site and change the metadata to indicate that they actually are separate, unique sites. Unique sites must have different coordinates.

If you choose to keep a site, the sites that will be merged with the site you chose to keep will be highlighted in red. Select “OK” to confirm.

When sites have been merged, the sites will be updated with the single merged site, and this merged site will automatically be assigned to all sample units that were using the duplicate sites. All observation data will be preserved.

Adding a new management regime

Navigate to the “Management” tab and select “New MR”

A new management regime requires a name and year established. All other details are optional. When you are finished, save the management regime. You can also delete the management with the “delete this record” button at the bottom.

In the “Management Regimes” tab you can also choose “Copy MRs from other projects” to add existing management regimes and their metadata from other MERMAID projects. You can also add a management regime directly from an observation page by clicking the ‘+’ sign next to the management regime dropdown field.

When online, a new management regime created by one user is shared across the project with all other users and available for them to use in observations. If you know the management regimes within your project in advance, it is easiest to add them while online before going to the field. Management regime details can be edited after creation if needed.

New management regimes can be created offline, and then will be synced when back online.

If multiple management regimes with identical names are created offline by different users within a project, and are assigned to the same site, they will be flagged as duplicate management regimes. If this happens, you will see a warning under the “Management Regimes” tab that says “Duplicate management regimes”. When you navigate into the “Management Regimes” tab you will see a notification at the top of the page that the project appears to have duplicate management regimes. You will also see this warning at the top of the sample unit that has the duplicate management regimes.

These management regimes can be merged or kept separate when users are back online. Click “Resolve” in the Management Regimes tab to decide whether to merge the duplicate management regimes or keep them separate.

A modal will show you which management regimes are considered duplicates. Here you can decide whether to keep just one management regime or to edit a management regime and change the metadata to indicate that they actually are separate, unique management regimes. Unique management regimes must have different names.

If you want to keep just one management regime, select the “Keep this MR” button. The duplicate management regimes(s) that will be merged with the management regime you choose to keep will be highlighted in red. This merged management regime will now be assigned to all sample units that had used the duplicate management regime. All observation data will be preserved. If you want to keep both management regimes, select “cancel” and ignore all warnings of duplicate management regimes.

A duplicate management regime can also be changed to another existing management regime within the transect using the “Resolve” button next to the warning; you can select a different management regime from your list if you accidentally assigned the duplicated management regime. You cannot merge duplicate management regimes from the transect, however, and must complete this process in the “Management Regimes” tab as described above.